Louisiana YOUNG LAWYERS' YOUR PRACTICE YOUR

FUTURE

"Your Practice Your Future" was the theme of the 2020 Louisiana Young Lawyers' Conference, conducted on Jan. 17 in Baton Rouge in conjunction with the Louisiana State Bar Association's (LSBA) Midyear Meeting. For this second annual conference, young lawyers earned up to 5 hours of CLE credit, including professionalism and law practice management. This conference featured valuable networking opportunities, social media and practical legal sessions, and the presentation of awards at the luncheon.

The luncheon keynote address, "Succeeding as a Young Lawyer in a Changing Profession," was presented by Hon. Christopher H. Hester, Baton Rouge City Court, Division A.

LSBA Young Lawyers Division Chair Scott L. Sternberg welcomed the attendees, which opened the door to a round of practical information sessions. Among the highlights were the opening plenary on "Taking Charge of Your Career: Establishing Your Brand and Practice as a Young Lawyer;" a Marketing Power Hour, in a speednetworking format, on the topics of branding, goal setting, tech issues, pro bono and community service and social media marketing; and Sprint Sessions covering transactions, criminal law for the uninitiated, managing student debt and financial literacy.



Scott L. Sternberg, 2019-20 YLD chair, addresses the YLD Conference during the Awards Ceremony.



Hon. Christopher H. Hester, Baton Rouge, gave the keynote address at the Louisiana Young Lawyers' Conference.

378

Outstanding Young Lawyer of the Year Award



The finalists for the Outstanding Young Lawyer Award, from left, Eric A. Foley, Joseph J. Cefalu III, YLD Awards Chair Shayna Beevers Morvant, Micah C. Zeno, 2019-20 YLD Chair Scott L. Sternberg, Teresa D. King and Keith J. Naccari.

Inset: Shayna Beevers Morvant (YLD Awards Committee Chair) presents Micah C. Zeno with the 2019 Outstanding Young Lawyer Award.



The Honorable Michaelle Pitard Wynne Professionalism Award



The finalists for the Honorable Michaelle Pitard Wynne Professionalism Award, from left, Ashley J. Heilprin, 2019-20 YLD Chair Scott L. Sternberg, Chelsea G. Caswell. Not pictured is Druit G. Gremillion, Jr.

Inset: Scott L. Sternberg (2019-20 YLD chair) presents Ashley J. Heilprin with the 2019 Honorable Michaelle Pitard Wynne Professionalism Award.



Outstanding Local Affiliate Award



The finalists for the Outstanding Local Affiliate Award, from left, Sowmya Mandava (Jefferson Bar Association Young Lawyers Division), Ashley J. Heilprin and Micah C. Zeno (Greater New Orleans Louis A. Martinet Legal Society, winner), 2019-20 YLD Chair Scott L. Sternberg and Amanda Kaiser (New Orleans Federal Bar Association Younger Lawyers Division).

Outstanding Program of the Year Award



The finalists for the Outstanding Program of the Year Award, from left, Sowmya Mandava and Micah C. Zeno (Greater New Orleans Louis A. Martinet Legal Society, winner), YLD Awards Committee Chair Shayna Beevers Morvant, Jacob K. Weixler (New Orleans Federal Bar Association Younger Lawyers Division), Ann K. Gregorie and Landon T. Hester (Baton Rouge Bar Association).

YLD Pro Bono Award



The finalists for the YLD Pro Bono Award, from left, Eric A. Foley, YLD Awards Chair Shayna Beevers Morvant and Brett D. Sandifer.

Inset: Brett D. Sandifer received the 2019 Pro Bono Award from YLD Awards Committee Chair Shayna Beevers Morvant.



Louisiana Bar Journal February / March 2020



Vol. 67, No. 5 www.lsba.org