## **2023 SEVEN POINTS LA FACULTY**

(BR – Baton Rouge; C – Covington; LAF – Lafayette; NOLA – New Orleans; WM - West Monroe; SP – Shreveport/Bossier City; TH - Thibodaux)

**Eric K. Barefield** (BR, C, LAF, NOLA, WM, SP, TH) is Ethics Counsel for the LSBA. After obtaining his JD from LSU, he began his professional career as an Assistant District Attorney in Orleans Parish. He also served as Deputy Disciplinary Counsel with the Office of Disciplinary Counsel and was responsible for investigating and prosecuting violations of the Louisiana Rules of Professional Conduct. He is responsible for the LSBA's Ethics Advisory Service, a confidential service for LSBA members to field ethical concerns.

**Austin Benton** (BR, C, LAF, NOLA, WM, SP, TH) is a practicing attorney at the law firm of Benton, Benton & Benton and focuses on domestic and civil litigation. He is the owner of the legal technology company, Ayla, LLC, which designs document automation systems for practitioners of personal injury, family, successions, criminal, foreclosure, and commercial defense work. Ayla is utilized by firms throughout Louisiana, New York, Texas, Florida, Mississippi, California, and Ohio. He works with over 100 law firms to assist in increasing productivity and decreasing the time required to generate simple and complex legal and administrative documents.

**Casey C. DeReus** (BR, C, LAF, NOLA, WM, SP, TH) practices with Baer Law LLC and focuses on negligent security and rideshare cases. A native Virginian, Casey holds a masters in French studies from Tulane and earned her her JD, *magna cum laude,* from Loyola University New Orleans, where she served as the Managing Print Editor for the *Loyola Law Review*. She has published numerous articles in trade publications such as the *Louisiana Bar Journal* and *Louisiana Advocates*, and currently serves as the Chair of the Woman's Caucus Publications Committee for the Louisiana Association for Justice. She is also the founder of Lady Lawyers of Louisiana, a group designed to foster connections and communication.

**Stephen I. Dwyer** (BR, C, LAF, NOLA, TH) is the president of the Louisiana State Bar Association and a founding partner of the Metairie firm of Dwyer, Camber and Suffern which provides a full complement of legal services to the business community ad real estate industry. An alum of Loyola Law School, he focuses on business transactions, business litigation and commercial real estate development. He is also member of the Adjunct Faculty at Loyola University.

**Shawn L. Holahan** (BR, C, LAF, NOLA, WM, SP, TH) is Practice Management Counsel and Loss Prevention Counsel for the LSBA, and also administers the LSBA's fee dispute arbitration program. A former member of the ABA LP Division's Publishing Board, its State and Local Outreach Committee and its TECHSHOW Planning Board, she is also the former Chair of the Practice Management Advisors of North America. She is also an editor and contributing columnist/author for the ABA's Law Practice Magazine and ABA GP Solo Magazine. Prior to her position at the bar, she was a partner with a medium sized law firm in New Orleans (labor and employment primarily) and had completed two federal clerkships in the USDC (E.D. La.). She assists lawyers with law office management issues and with choosing technology.

**Curtis R. Joseph, Jr.** (SP) is of counsel in the Shreveport firm of Blanchard, Walker, O'Quin & Roberts, APLC and handles defense and plaintiff-oriented litigation. An undergraduate and law graduate of Washington & Lee, he currently serves on the LSBA's Board of Governors. He is also vice chair of the Metropolitan Planning Commission and serves on the boards of the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors, the Biomedical Research Foundation, the Committee of One Hundred and the Rotary Club of Shreveport. He is also a former president of the Shreveport Bar Association and the North Louisiana Jewish Federation and the immediate past chair of the Strategic Action Council and North Louisiana Holocaust Remembrance Service. He is also a local jazz and blues drummer.

**C.A. (Hap) Martin III** (WM) is a member in the Monroe firm of Shotwell, Brown & Sperry, A.P.L.C. and an LSU law graduate. A former member of the LSBA's House of Delegates, he is currently serves on the Board of Governors and several other committees. He is a member of the American Arbitration Association, serving on the Commercial Arbitration Panel and the Construction Arbitration Panel.

**Dr. Angela White-Bazile** (BR, C, LAF, NOLA, WM, SP, TH) is the executive director of the LSBA's Judges and Lawyers Assistance Program (JLAP). She is an advocate for enhancing overall health and wellness for judges, lawyers, and law students. She emphasizes that JLAP is a confidential safe haven of healing, and you are not alone if you suffer with addiction, substance abuse/dependence, depression, or other mental, emotional, or physical health concerns.

Justices of the Louisiana Supreme Court:

Chief Justice John L. Weimer - Sixth District

Justice William J. Crain - First District Justice Scott J. Crichton - Second District Justice James T. Genovese - Third District Justice Jay B. McCallum - Fourth District Justice Jefferson D. Hughes III - Fifth District Justice Piper D. Griffin - Seventh District

## LOUISIANA SUPREME COURT DISTRICTS Effective January 1, 1999



4

Caldwel

DeSoto

Jefferson Parish Precincts in the First Louisiana Supreme Court District are 1-H through 9-H; 1-K through 35-K; 1 through 46; 51 through 108; 115 through 138; 150 through 155; 157A; 157B; 158; 170; 186; 198 and 199.

Jefferson Parish Precincts in the Sixth Louisiana Supreme Court District are 1-G1; 1-LA, I-LB; 2-L; 182 through 185; 189 through 197; and 246A through 250. Jefferson Parish Precincts in the Seventh Louisiana Supreme Court District are 1-G; 2-G through 11-G; 1-W through 9-W; 156; 171 through 181; 187; 188; 210 through 217; and 225 through 238.

Orleans Parish Precincts in the First Louisiana Supreme Court District are 3-20; 4-8 through 4-11; 4-14 through 4-23; 5-13 through 5-18; and 17-17 through 17-21. The remainder of Orleans Parish Precincts are in the Seventh Louisiana Supreme Court District.

