

Thanks 2014-15 Diversity Committee Members!

he Louisiana State Bar Association (LSBA) Diversity Committee's mission is assessing the level of racial, ethnic, national origin, religion, gender, age, sexual orientation and disability diversity within all components of the legal profession in Louisiana; identifying barriers to the attainment of full and meaningful representation and participation in the legal profession by persons of diverse backgrounds; and proposing programs and methods to most effectively work to remove those barriers.

On behalf of the LSBA and the Member Outreach and Diversity Department, thank you to the 2014-15 Diversity Committee and Subcommittee members.

Diversity Committee

Co-Chairs

Hon. Roland L. Belsome, Jr., Luis Arturo Leitzelar and Barbara Bourgeois Ormsby.

Members

Jeremy Christopher Lee Babers, Paul Stephen Tuano Balanon, Attorney General James D. Caldwell, Derrick Edwards, Demarcus Johnathan Gordon, Scherri Neewana Guidry, Kandace Runita Hamilton, Joseph Henry Hart IV, Christopher Bondreak Hebert, Crystal Marie Heine, Paul Damon Hesse, Chauntis Trenelle Jenkins, Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson, Hon. Quintillis Kenyatta Lawrence, Wayne J. Lee, Hon. Kelly McNeil Legier, Prof. Maria Pabón López, Kellen James Mathews, Prof. David D. Meyer, Elena M. Perez, Chancellor Freddie Pitcher, Jr., Michael Ray Robinson, Ronald Joseph Scalise, Jr., Chantell Marie Smith, Scott Jerome Spivey, Ranie T. Thompson, Hon. Max N. Tobias, Jr. and Prof. Jack M. Weiss III.

Diversity Subcommittees

► Awards Subcommittee: Chair Chantell Marie Smith, Co-Chair Elena M. Perez and Chauntis T. Jenkins.

► Communications Subcommittee: Chair Crystal Marie Heine, Co-Chair Derrick Edwards, Adrejia L. Boutte, Lauren E. Godshall, Hon. Kelly McNeil Legier and Claire M. Ojeh.

► Conclave Subcommittee: Co-Chair Hon. Roland L. Belsome, Jr., Co-Chair Luis A. Leitzelar, Co-Chair Barbara B. Ormsby, Denia Aiyegbusi, Nadege A. Assale, Jeremy C. Babers, Troy N. Bell, Micah J. Fincher, Demarcus Johnathan Gordon, Christopher Hebert, Hon. Kelly McNeil Legier, Hon. Quintillis Kenyatta Lawrence, Kellen J. Mathews, Ebony S. Morris and Amani P. Perkins.

► Integration Subcommittee: Chair Scott Jerome Spivey, Co-Chair Joseph Henry Hart IV, I.J. Clark-Sam, Monique M. Edwards, Jacqueline Epstein, Jeremy S. Epstein, Matthew J. Glodowski, Schalyece M. Harrison, Deborah Love, Michael Ray Robinson and Cherrilynne Washington Thomas.

► LGBT Subcommittee: Chair Paul D. Hesse, Co-Chair Tyler J. Douglas, Paul Stephen Tuano Balanon, Max V. Camp, L. Bianca Chretien, Nicholas Hite, Robert E. Lancaster, Monte Mollere, Angie M. Peraza, Michael Schachtman, Nicholas C. Tomlinson, Emily Trostle and Zachary L. Wool.

▶ Pipeline to Diversity/Outreach Subcommittee: Chair Scherri N. Guidry, Co-Chair Kandace R. Hamilton, Chanelle N. Gaither, Erin Guruli, Tracy O. Joseph, Rhonda M. Mercadel, Charles K. Middleton, Ranie T. Thompson, Hon. Max N. Tobias, Lykisha R. Vaughan and Jack M. Weiss III.

2015 "Suit Up" Program starting on June 15

he Louisiana State Bar Association's (LSBA) Suit Up for the Future High School Summer Legal Institute and Internship Program will begin its 2015 session on June 15 with 20 student interns.

This year's three-week program (June 15-26 and July 6-10) will include abridged law school sessions, shadowing opportunities at local firms, courts and agencies, and field trips to courts and law schools. During their final week, the students will focus on developing a written memorandum and an oral argument to be presented to a panel of judges in a courtroom.

The Suit Up Program, a partnership with the Just the Beginning Foundation and the Louisiana Bar Foundation, is an award-winning Diversity Pipeline Program and a 2013 American Bar Association Partnership Program recipient.

Several attorneys have volunteered for the program, either talking to the students one-onone or offering "shadowing" opportunities.

Several professors and law schools' staff members are volunteering their time to teach the students, including Prof. Mary Garvey Algero, Lovola University College of Law (Legal Writing); Prof. M. Isabel Medina, Ferris Family Distinguished Professor of Law, Loyola University College of Law (Constitutional Law); Prof. Russell L. Jones, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Jesse N. Stone, Jr. Endowed Professor of Law, Southern University Law Center (Criminal Law); Prof. Michelle A. Jackson, Director of Career Services, Adjunct Professor of Law, Southern University Law Center (Education Law); Erin Phifer, Director of Career Services and Employer Relations, Louisiana State University Paul M. Hebert Law Center (College and Law School Admission Preparation); and Jeffrey C. Brooks, Assistant Professor of Professional Practice, LSU Paul M. Hebert Law Center (Making an Oral Argument). \mathbb{Z}

Through the Lens:

Conclave on Diversity in the Legal Profession / 3-6-15









Louisiana State Bar Association (LSBA) President Joseph L. (Larry) Shea, Jr., left, and Wayne J. Lee, with the firm Stone Pigman Walther Wittmann, L.L.C., and a former LSBA president, chat between sessions. Stone Pigman was a Gold level sponsor of the Diversity Conclave. *Photo by Matthew Hinton Photography.*



Diversity Conclave Co-Chairs Luis A. Leitzelar, left, and Barbara B. Ormsby listen as Kim M. Keenan gives her keynote address. Keenan spoke about minorities and the historical impact of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965. Photo by Matthew Hinton Photography.

Conclave keynote speaker Kim M. Keenan, CEO and president of Multicultural Media, Telecom and Internet Council. *Photo by Matthew Hinton Photography.*



Louisiana State Bar Association President Joseph L. (Larry) Shea, Jr. welcomed Diversity Conclave attendees. Seated far left is Diversity Conclave Subcommittee Co-Chair Hon. Roland L. Belsome, Jr. and fellow Co-Chair Luis A. Leitzelar. Seated at right is Henry (Hank) James Thomas, one of the original 13 Freedom Riders. *Photo by Matthew Hinton Photography*.



Louisiana Supreme Court Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson introduced Conclave keynote speaker Kim M. Keenan, CEO and president of Multicultural Media, Telecom and Internet Council, at the Awards Luncheon. *Photo by Matthew Hinton Photography.*

Focus on Diversity