Focus on Diversity 18 Students Complete 2019 "Suit Up for the Future" Program

he Louisiana State Bar Association's (LSBA) Suit Up for the Future High School Summer Legal Institute and Internship Program had another successful year with 18 student interns completing the program. The three-week program (June 10-28) included abridged law school sessions; shadowing opportunities at law firms, courts and agencies; and field trips to courts and law schools.

During the program, students prepared written memorandums to support their oral arguments, which were presented on the last day to a panel of judges.

The LSBA Suit Up for the Future Program, a partnership with Just the Beginning, the Louisiana Bar Foundation and Louisiana law schools, is an award-winning Diversity Pipeline program and a 2013 American Bar Association Partnership recipient.

The success of the program is credited to the dedicated volunteers.

► LSBA Pipeline to Diversity and Outreach Subcommittee Co-Chair Scherri N. Guidry, 15th JDC Public Defenders Office; LSBA Pipeline to Diversity and Outreach Subcommittee member Angela White-Bazile, executive counsel to Louisiana Supreme Court Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson; and 2019-20 LSBA President Robert A. Kutcher.

▶ Instructors: Professor Emily A. Bishop, Loyola University New Orleans College of Law; Professors Jeffrey C. Brooks and Raymond T. Diamond, Louisiana State University Paul M. Hebert Law Center; Advocacy Fellow Annie F. Scardulla, LSU Paul M. Hebert Law Center; and Professor Roederick C. White, Southern University Law Center.

► Shadowing Employers: Hon. Nakisha Ervin-Knott and Hon. Piper D. Griffin, Orleans Parish Civil District Court; Hon. Lee V. Faulkner, Jr., 24th JDC; Hon. Ivan L.R.



Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson and Hon. Tiffany G. Chase welcome Suit Up student interns. From left, Lora L. Ghawaly; Lannette Richardson; Lauren Bennett; Quentin C. Stalker; Madison G. Campbell; Jamia S. Brown; Miles M. Francis; Belema A. Derefaka; Hon. Tiffany G. Chase, Louisiana Court of Appeal, Fourth Circuit; Ally D. Flakes; Issis M. Haydel; Ning (Nina) Xi; Javier A. Calderon-Yanar; Casey L. Shaefer; Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson, Louisiana Supreme Court; Taylor P. Wardsworth; Lizzie N. Flores-Miranda; Miles I. Lee; Ann M. Rome; Rachael J. Hahn; Christian J. Olivier; Kai Z. L. Haley; Benjamin J. Burstain; Jessica A. Burrell; Christian A. Falcone; Trinity A. Holmes; and Ashley Berry.

Lemelle, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana; Hon. Terri F. Love, Louisiana 4th Circuit Court of Appeal; Courington Kiefer & Sommers, L.L.C; Liskow & Lewis; SHIELDS| MOTT L.L.P.; Simon, Peragine, Smith & Redfearn, LLP; Stone Pigman Walther Wittmann LLC; Orleans Public Defenders Office; Orleans Parish District Attorney's Office; Michelle D. Craig, Transcendent Law Group; Scott, Vicknair, Hair & Checki, LLC; and Entergy Services, Inc.

▶ Judge Panel: Hon. Dana M. Douglas and Hon. Karen Wells Roby, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana; Hon. D. Nicole Sheppard (Section J), Orleans Parish Civil District Court; Hon. Dale N. Atkins and Hon. Roland L. Belsome, Jr., Louisiana 4th Circuit Court of Appeal.

▶ Field Trip Presenters: Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson and Associate Justice Marcus R. Clark, Louisiana Supreme Court; Hon. Roland L. Belsome, Jr., Hon. Tiffany G. Chase, Hon. Sandra C. Jenkins and Hon. Terri F. Love, Louisiana 4th Circuit Court of Appeal; Hon. Camille G. Buras (Section H) and Hon. Tracey Flemings-Davillier (Section B), Orleans Parish Criminal District Court; Loyola University New Orleans Law School; Tulane University; Tulane University Law School; and Trina S. Vincent and Miriam D. Childs, Louisiana Supreme Court.

▶ Interns: Ashley Berry; Adrija Bhattacharjee; Lauren Bennett; Belema Derefaka; Ally Flakes; Asia Hentkowski; Kai Johnson, extern to Hon. Karen Wells Roby; and Lannette Richardson.



LSBA Pipeline to Diversity and Outreach Subcommittee Co-Chair Scherri N. Guidry, left, 15th JDC Public Defenders Office; 2019-20 LSBA President Robert A. Kutcher, center; and Hon. Karen Wells Roby, Chief Magistrate Judge, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana welcomed students on Day One.



Sherri N. Guidry, left and LSBA Pipeline to Diversity and Outreach Subcommittee member Angela White-Bazile.

► Lunch Presenters: Denia S. Aiyegbusi, J. McCaleb Bilbro, Kieone H. Cochran, Kristen A. Lee, Janell McFarland-Forges and Micah C. Zeno.



Matthew R. Slaughter, Phelps Dunbar, LLP, fifth from left, assisted student interns with memorandum prep.



Lunch presenter LSBA Diversity Committee Co-Chair Denia Aiyegbusi, Deutsch Kerrigan LLP, fourth from left, with student interns.



Morning session judge panel, Hon. Dana M. Douglas and Hon. Karen Wells Roby, Chief Magistrate Judge, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana.



Suit Up student interns on the final day of the program. Seated from left, afternoon session oral argument winner (prosecution) Issis M. Haydel; Casey L. Schaefer; Lizzie N. Flores-Miranda; best memo winner (prosecution) Taylor P. Wardsworth; Ning (Nina) Xi; morning session oral argument winner (defense) Ann M. Rome; afternoon session oral argument winner (defense) Rachael J. Hahn; and best memo winner (defense) Javier A. Calderon-Yanar. Standing from left, Christian J. Olivier; Madison G. Campbell; Benjamin J. Burstain; morning session oral argument winner (prosecution) Jessica A. Burrell; Miles I. Lee; Kai Z.L. Haley; Jamia S. Brown; Quentin C. Stalker; Christian A. Falcone; and Trinity A. Holmes.



Afternoon session judge panel with Hon. D. Nicole Sheppard, Orleans Parish Civil District Court (top row left) and Hon. Dale N. Atkins (top row right) and Hon. Roland L. Belsome, Jr., Louisiana Court of Appeal, Fourth Circuit (bottom row far right).



Kimberly Jones, MS, JD, Director Law Admissions, fourth from left, welcomes students to Loyola University New Orleans College of Law.



Emily Wojna-Hodnett, Assistant Director of Admission, far right, welcomes students to Tulane University Law School.



"Legal Research and Writing" presenter Professor Emily A. Bishop, center, Westerfield Fellow, director of the Lawyering Program, Loyola University New Orleans College of Law, with student interns.





"Constitutional Law" presenter Raymond T. Diamond, center, director of the Pugh Institute for Justice, James Carville Alumni Professor of Law and Jules F. and Frances L. Landry Distinguished Professor of Law, LSU Paul M. Hebert Law Center, with student interns.

"Oral Argument Workshop" presenters Annie Scardulla, third from left, Advocacy Fellow, LSU Paul M. Hebert Law Center, and Jeffrey C. Brooks, fourth from left, assistant professor of Professional Practice, with student interns.



"Contracts" presenter Professor Roederick C. White, fifth from left, Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs, Southern University Law Center, with student interns.