

Louisiana State Bar Association Young Lawyers Division



DATE:	SEPTEMBER 18, 2023
TO:	MEMBERS OF THE LSBA YOUNG LAWYERS DIVISION
RE:	QUALIFYING OF CANDIDATES FOR YLD COUNCIL POSITIONS

Dear LSBA Young Lawyers Division Member:

In accordance with the election procedures and Bylaws of the Young Lawyers Division, you are notified that the Secretary of the Young Lawyers Division Council will receive qualifying notices of candidates for the following positions:

Young Lawyers Division District Representatives: One member each to be elected from the First, Second, Third, Fifth, and Seventh districts, all for two-year terms.

Under Article II(C), Section 2C of the Bylaws of the Young Lawyers Division, the term of office for District Representatives is two years. No representative shall be elected to serve more than two complete consecutive terms.

With the exception of the Immediate Past Chair, Council members must not have reached their 39th birthday or commenced their 5th year of practice, whichever is *later*, before the beginning of the term of office. Terms of office commence with the Young Lawyers Division Annual Meeting scheduled for June 5, 2024.

Membership on the Council <u>requires</u> attendance at a Council orientation, four quarterly Council meetings, and the LSBA Annual Meeting. Council members are expected to actively contribute to Council initiatives. District Representatives are liaisons between the LSBA YLD and the local bar associations in their districts. District Representatives are expected to maintain working relationships with the local bar associations in their district throughout their term. Only those members who can fulfill such responsibilities should seek to qualify.

Please direct any questions about the open positions to Chair-Elect Kristen D. Amond (kristen@amondlaw.com).

The following districts govern the geographic areas the Young Lawyers Division Council:

DISTRICTS

District One	Orleans Parish
District Two	Parishes of Jefferson, St. Bernard, Plaquemines, St. Charles, St. John the Baptist, Ascension, Assumption, and St. James
District Three	Parishes of Lafayette, Iberia, Lafourche, Terrebonne, St. Mary, and St. Martin
District Four	Parishes of Calcasieu, Cameron, Acadia, Evangeline, Jefferson Davis, St. Landry, and Vermilion
District Five	Parishes of East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, West Feliciana, Livingston, St. Helena, Tangipahoa, Washington, and St. Tammany
District Six	Parishes of Allen, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Grant, Iberville, LaSalle, Natchitoches, Pointe Coupee, Rapides, Sabine, Vernon, Winn, and West Baton Rouge
District Seven	Parishes of Caldwell, Catahoula, Concordia, East Carroll, West Carroll, Franklin, Jackson, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Richland, Tensas, and Union
District Eight	Parishes of Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Claiborne, DeSoto, Red River, and Webster

Candidates must maintain their preferred mailing address in a parish within the District Representative's respective district. You may qualify **only** if there is a vacancy in your district.

Qualifying notices must be completed online at <u>www.lsba.org/goto/elections</u>. The deadline for qualifying online is **midnight CST**, **Monday**, **October 16**, **2023**.

You may complete an optional biographical information form on the LSBA's website. Any biographical information that you submit will later be posted on the LSBA's website.

A YLD member may nominate another YLD member who otherwise qualifies as a candidate, but the nominating member certifies by completing the online form that the nominee has given his or her permission to be nominated.

Sincerely,

all Meleur

Collin R. Melancon Secretary

CRM/jf