

Louisiana State Bar Association Young Lawyers Division



September 16, 2024

Dear LSBA Young Lawyers Division Member:

In accordance with Article II(A), Section 5 of the Bylaws of the Young Lawyers Division, the Young Lawyers Division Council has met and nominated the following officer for 2025–2026:

Secretary Rachal Cox Cassagne, Gretna To view the nominee's biography, visit www.lsba.org/goto/elections.

Collin R. Melancon, New Orleans, who currently serves as Chair-Elect, will automatically succeed to the office of Chair for 2025–2026. Christopher J. Sellers Jr., New Orleans, who currently serves as Secretary, will automatically succeed to the office of Chair-Elect for 2025–2026.

Additional nominations for Secretary may be made by written petition addressed to the Young Lawyers Division. Due to the rotation of selection of Young Lawyers Division officers, a nominee for Secretary for 2025–2026 *must* be a resident of or actively practicing law in the parishes of Orleans, Jefferson, St. Bernard, or Plaquemines, based on preferred mailing address. Because the Secretary will automatically succeed to the offices of Chair-Elect (2026-2027), Chair (2027-2028), and Immediate Past Chair (2028-2029), a nominee for Secretary *should not* reach the age of 39 or commence their 5th year of practice, *whichever is later*, prior to the beginning of the LSBA's fiscal year on July 1, 2028.

Petitions for nomination must be (i) signed by, at least, 15 members of the Young Lawyers Division, (ii) sent to the attention of the Young Lawyers Division at 601 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, Louisiana 70130, and (iii) postmarked by *October 14, 2024*. A nominee must include with their petition a short statement of the nominee's qualifications, in the form of either a short biography (75 words or fewer) or a resume, which will be placed on the LSBA website.

Sincerely,

Chunghen Bellen fr.

Christopher J. Sellers Jr. Secretary

CJSjr/jf