Access to Justice Committee

Access to Justice Committee

The mission of the Access to Justice Committee is to assure that every Louisiana citizen has access to competent civil legal representation by promoting and supporting a broad based and effective justice community through collaboration between the Louisiana State Bar Association, the Louisiana Bar Foundation, Louisiana Law Schools, private practitioners, local bar associations, pro bono programs and legal aid providers.

The Access to Justice Committee was established in 1996 to consolidate the efforts of two existing LSBA committees (The Legal Services Committee and The Volunteers In Public Service Committee). As the mission states, the committee helps to strengthen an integrated delivery network by supporting all those who deliver legal services to the poor. The current committee is comprised of 40 volunteer members, both attorneys and non-attorneys, with the common interest of assisting the indigent with their legal needs. These volunteers, with various backgrounds, reside throughout Louisiana and include corporate counsel, legal service attorneys, legal educators, large and small firm representatives, and pro bono directors. Their diverse backgrounds only enhance the committee's ability to work through initiatives from a variety of approaches.

Latest Access to Justice News and Events

LIFT Legal Incubator and Accelerator Program Now Accepting Applications

The Legal Innovators For Tomorrow (LIFT) program is now accepting applications for its 2016 class of incubator program participants. Operated by the Access to Justice Department of the Louisiana State Bar Association, LIFT is a statewide legal incubator and accelerator program designed to increase access to legal services for low and moderate income residents of Louisiana. The program does this by providing new lawyers with the resources and support they need to develop public interest focused solo firms that employ innovative solutions to addressing unmet legal needs. The goal of the program is to address the major gap in access for legal services for poor and moderate income clients by helping recent law grads, who are passionate about social justice, build cutting-edge practices that provide sustaining profitable legal careers. For application information click here.

Deadline to submit your application is March 11, 2016

2015 Lawyers in Libraries

Attorneys volunteer in all Louisiana parishes for “Lawyers in Libraries” Day of Service

Louisiana pro bono attorneys provided much-needed legal assistance to the public via local libraries during the Oct. 29 “Lawyers in Libraries” Day of Service program. 133 volunteer attorneys conducted 73 events servicing over 600 people.  “Lawyers in Libraries” is part of an ongoing collaboration between the Louisiana State Bar Association’s (LSBA) Access to Justice Department and the Louisiana Library Association which aims to directly connect the public with counsel and make people aware of the resources and options that may be available to them.

The LSBA would like to acknowledge the many LSBA members who volunteered on Oct. 29 at libraries in their communities. More “Lawyers in Libraries” events will be scheduled throughout the year. Attorneys wanting to volunteer their time and talents for future events should email Nicole Louque at

“Lawyers in Libraries”  Volunteers

Acadia Parish
: Greg Landry
Allen Parish: Adam Johnson
Ascension Parish: Artis Ulmer
Assumption Parish: Leah Poole
Avoyelles Parish: Cory Roy, Ben James, Doug Bryan, Charles Riddle and Brandon Scott
Beauregard Parish: Lawanda Gibson
Bienville Parish: Melanie Shrell
Bossier Parish: Felicia Hamilton and Dayan Ryan
Caddo Parish: John Frazier
Calcasieu Parish: Tom Shea
Caldwell Parish: Dina Domangue
Cameron Parish: Jennifer Jones
Catahoula Parish: Christie Wood
Claiborne Parish: Jerry Edwards and Charlie Tabor
Concordia Parish: Amelia Hoppe and Jonathan Rhodes
DeSoto Parish: Hon. Gary Evans
East Baton Rouge Parish: Annette Peltier and Luis Leitzelar
East Carroll Parish: Laurie Brister
East Feliciana Parish: Sara Bradley
Evangeline Parish: Laura Picard
Franklin Parish: Emily Shields, E. McIntyre, Scott Sartin and Caroline Hemphill
Grant Parish: Gwenda Lamb
Iberia Parish: Julie Rosenzweig
Iberville Parish: Wendy Ramnarine and Thomas McCormick
Jackson Parish: Mike Rhymes
Jefferson Parish: Jeremy Epstein, Jacqueline Epstein, James Maguire, Shayan Beevers, Thomas Robbins and Martha Maher
Jefferson Davis Parish: David Marcantel
Lafayette Parish: Lafayette Volunteer Lawyers
Lafourche Parish: John Sirois
LaSalle Parish: Carmen Ryland and Brian Frazier
Lincoln Parish: Paul Lensing
Livingston Parish: Sam Pleasant 
Madison Parish: Edwin Moberley
Morehouse Parish: Jay Mitchell
Natchitoches Parish: Lewis Gladney
Orleans Parish: Kelsey Jarrett, Elizabeth Meneray, Kimya Holmes, Charles Nelson, Jason Freas, Michelle Semmes, John Bihm, Margaret Woodward, Roy Bellina, Leandro Area, Bonnie Dye and Thomas Dunn
Ouachita Parish: Clint Hanchey and Dayna Ryan
Plaquemines Parish: Chris Ralston, and Ashley Heilprin,
Pointe Coupee Parish: Don Cazayoux and Lane Ewing
Rapides Parish: Maria Losavio, Robert Levy, Barry Barnett, Ruby Freeman, Terry Aubin, Ted Roberts, Laurel White, Walter McClatchey and Amanda Westergard
Red River Parish: Nina Coleman
Richland Parish:Myrt Hales Jr. and Josh Strickland
St. Bernard Parish: Van Robichaux Jr., Brian Page, Daniel Nodurft, Lisa Borne, Paul Tabary III, David Serio, Cory Grant, Cullen Tonry, Alan Bouterie and Michael Ginart
St. Charles Parish: Michelle Stross
St. Helena Parish: Sean Brady
St. James Parish: David Handelman
St. John the Baptist Parish: Greg Hughes
St. Landry Parish: Travis Broussard and Rick Keating
St. Martin Parish: Jennifer Maybery
St. Mary Parish: Adolph Curet
St. Tammany Parish: Dorian Tuminello, Cindy Petry, Kim Sanders Vanderbrook, Shanda Redmon, Teresa Robertson, Thad Minaldi, William Cass and William Magee
Tangipahoa Parish: Greg Webb and Denise Lee
Tensas Parish: McCaleb Bilbro
Terrebonne Parish: John Sirois
Union Parish: Brian Dollar
Vermilion Parish: Burton Guidry
Vernon Parish: S.Christie Smith IV, Elvin Fontenot, Tiffany Ratliff, Willie Banks Jr., and Wes Bailey
Washington Parish: Janet MacDonell, Lam Tran
Webster Parish: Justin Courtney
West Baton Rouge Parish: Julie Payer
West Carroll Parish: Clay Hamilton
West Feliciana Parish: David Opperman
Winn Parish: James Mixon    

Thank you to the following agencies and local bars that helped coordinate
volunteers for many of these events.

Acadiana Legal Services
Baton Rouge Bar Foundation- Pro Bono Project
Caldwell Parish Bar Association
Central Louisiana Pro Bono Project
DeSoto Parish Bar Association
Lafayette Volunteer Lawyers
Legal Services of North Louisiana
Southeast Louisiana Legal Services
Southeast Louisiana Legal Services- Northshore Pro Bono Project
Southwest Louisiana Bar Foundation
St. Landry Parish Bar Association

St. James Parish

Terrebonne Parish

St. Bernard Parish

Civil Legal Aid Awards

The 2015 Civil Legal Aid Awards recognizes the outstanding work of lawyers serving in the public interest community. The two awards were presented on October 9, 2015 at the Louisiana Justice Community Conference in Baton Rouge. The winners are featured below.

Award Categories:

 Legal Service Innovation Award - This award will be presented to an attorney who or organization that has developed an innovative method of delivering legal services to those with unmet legal needs.

Southeast Louisiana Legal Services for "Single Stop"

 Legal Service Excellence in Advocacy Award - This award will be presented to a Louisiana public interest attorney who has demonstrated exceptional service, professionalism and passion for representing vulnerable clients. 

Sachida Raman

Disclaimer of Liability | Advertisement Disclaimer | Contact Us
Louisiana State Bar Association | 601 St. Charles Avenue | New Orleans, LA 70130 | (800) 421-LSBA(5722) / (504) 566-1600