Young Lawyers Division

Young Lawyers Division

The purpose of the Young Lawyers Division is to foster discussions and interchange of ideas relative to the duties, responsibilities and problems of the younger members of the legal profession in the State of Louisiana; to aid in their advancement; to encourage their interest and participation in the activities of the Louisiana State Bar Association, and, in general, to further the purposes and objectives of the LSBA. This site is a public service of the LSBA-YLD Council, providing YLD information to the public, communicating with YLD members.

Latest News and Developments

Registration is Open for Jan. 16 YLD Professional Development CLE Seminar
Online registration is open for the LSBA Young Lawyers Division’s annual Professional Development CLE Seminar, scheduled for Friday, Jan. 16, 2015, at the InterContinental New Orleans Hotel, 444 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans. The seminar is being held in conjunction with the LSBA’s Midyear Meeting.

The seminar is open to the first 175 young lawyers who register. Online registration will close at 3 p.m. Jan. 12; on-site registration will be available, space permitting. The program is approved for 4 hours of CLE credit (including 1 hour of ethics, 1 hour of professionalism and 1 hour of law office management). The registration cost is $30 and includes seminar attendance, electronic course materials, continental breakfast and coffee/refreshment breaks.

To register and review the seminar agenda and speakers, click here.

Nomination Deadline is Feb. 13, 2015, for Young Lawyers Division Awards
The nomination deadline is Feb. 13, 2015, for five 2015 LSBA Young Lawyers Division awards: the Hon. Michaelle Pitard Wynne Professionalism Award, the Outstanding Young Lawyer Award, the Service to the Public Award, the Service to the Bar Award and the YLD Pro Bono Award. To review award guidelines and to access a nomination form, click here. For more information, contact YLD Awards Committee Chair Jennifer Z. Rosenbach, (504)368-1020 or email

2015 Richard N. Ware, IV State High School Mock Trial Competition
The 2015 Mock Trial materials are available below, in preparation for the 2015 Richard N. Ware, IV State High School Mock Trial Competition. High school teams from across the state compete against each other in regional mock trial competitions, which are presided over by local Judges and judged by members of the local bar. The 2015 competition will be held in Lake Charles on March 28.

Volunteer for a YLD Committee
Serve the public and the profession by getting involved with an LSBA YLD committee! YLD committee assignment requests are now being accepted for the 2014-15 Bar year. Volunteer with amazing projects like Wills for Heroes and Barristers for Boards, or leave your mark on the profession through impactful committees like Bridging the Gap and Minority Involvement.

Committee descriptions are available here.
The YLD Committee Sign-Up Form is available here.
Law Student Membership

If you are currently a Louisiana law student, join the Law Student Membership of the Louisiana State Bar Association. You can obtain the same membership benefits offered to the lawyers of Louisiana, access excellent networking opportunities and receive a free digital subscription to the Louisiana Bar Journal.
Click here to view the Law Student Membership brochure and application.

Disclaimer of Liability | Advertisement Disclaimer | Contact Us
Louisiana State Bar Association | 601 St. Charles Avenue | New Orleans, LA 70130 | (800) 421-LSBA(5722) / (504) 566-1600