LSBA Installs 2024-25 Officers and Board of Governors

The LSBA's 2024-25 officers and members of the Board of Governors were installed June 6 at a ceremony at the LSBA’s Annual Meeting in Destin, Fla. Louisiana Supreme Court Chief Justice John L. Weimer administered the oath of office.

Patrick A. Talley, Jr., a partner in the New Orleans office of the law firm Phelps Dunbar, LLP, was installed as the 84th LSBA president (2024-25 term).

Edward J. Walters, Jr., a partner in the Baton Rouge law firm Walters, Thomas, Cullens, LLC, was installed as the 2024-25 president-elect. He will assume the presidency in 2025-26.

Valerie T. Schexnayder, a mediator with Schexnayder Mediation Services, LLC, in Baton Rouge, is beginning the second year of her two-year term as secretary. She also serves as editor of the Louisiana Bar Journal, the LSBA’s bimonthly magazine.

C.A. (Hap) Martin III, a member in the Monroe law firm Shotwell, Brown & Sperry, APLC, is beginning the first year of his two-year term as treasurer.

Shayna L. Sonnier, an attorney in the Lake Charles law firm Veron Bice, LLC, will continue her service to the LSBA as the 2024-25 immediate past president.

Kristen D. Amond, an attorney in New Orleans (Kristen Amond, LLC), was installed as 2024-25 chair of the LSBA Young Lawyers Division.

Members of the 2024-25 Board of Governors also were installed by Chief Justice Weimer.

First District
• J. Christopher Zainey, Jr., a partner in the New Orleans law firm Lambert Zainey Smith & Soso, PLC.
• Graham H. Ryan, a partner in the New Orleans office of the law firm Jones Walker, LLP.

Second District
• Jeffrey G. Lagarde, an attorney in the Metairie office of the law firm Staines, Eppling & Kenney, LLC.

Third District
• Melanie W. Chatagnier, the sole attorney and owner of Chatagnier Law Office in Thibodaux.

Fourth District
• Adam P. Johnson, a partner in The Johnson Firm in Lake Charles.

Fifth District
• Carrie LeBlanc Jones, of counsel in the Baton Rouge office of the law firm Breazeale, Sachse & Wilson, LLP.
• Kelly M. Rabalais, vice president of communications and strategy for St. Tammany Health System.

Sixth District
• Barry M. Barnett, a partner in the law firm LaCroix, Levy & Barnett, LLC, in Alexandria.

Seventh District
• Amy J. Miller, owner/attorney in Amy Miller Attorney at Law in Ruston.

Eighth District
• Senae D. Hall, an assistant district attorney in the Caddo Parish District Attorney’s Office in Shreveport.

At-Large Members
• Jeffrey A. Riggs, a partner in the Lafayette office of the law firm Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith, LLP.
• L. Bradley Hancock, the executive partner in the Houston, TX, office of the law firm Holland & Knight, LLP.
• Tina L. Suggs, in-house counsel for State Farm Insurance Co. in Metairie.

Loyola University College of Law/Faculty Representative
• Prof. Monica Hof Wallace, the Dean Marcel Garsaud, Jr. Distinguished Professor of Law at Loyola University New Orleans College of Law.

Southern University Law Center/Faculty Representative
• Prof. Donald W. North, vice chancellor of student affairs at Southern University Law Center in Baton Rouge.

Louisiana State Law Institute Representative
• André Doguet, commissioner for the 15th Judicial District Court in Lafayette.

House of Delegates Liaison Committee
• Chair Shannon Seiler Dartez, an attorney with the Glenn Armentor Law Corporation in Lafayette.
• Member Sandra K. Cosby, a solo practitioner in Metairie.
• Member Aaron R. Wilson, an attorney in Wilson & Wilson, APLC, in Bossier City.

Full profiles of the officers and members of the Board of Governors are available online at:

LSBA News Resources

Louisiana Bar Journal Bar Briefs
Louisiana State Bar Association
601 St. Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70130
(800) 421-LSBA(5722) / (504) 566-1600