LSBA Home
LSBA Menu

MCLE Reporting Requirements


The compliance requirement for attorneys admitted in 2018 is 12.5 hours, including 8 hours of ethics, professionalism or law office management, which can be earned in the year of admission or the following calendar year. The eight hour component can be earned using any combination of these credits. All credit hours must be earned by December 31, 2019 and reported no later than January 31, 2020.

The MCLE Rules allow up to 4 hours per compliance period of credit hours delivered through technologically assisted means. Ethics, professionalism, and law office management credits may be obtained in this manner. It is highly recommended that attorneys obtain these course credits through the pre-approved courses listed on the MCLE Calendar. Courses obtained through other venues may not qualify, regardless of the sponsoring organization.

Attorneys admitted in 2018 who have not practiced law in Louisiana, and have not practiced Louisiana law in any other jurisdiction since their admission, may qualify for the exemption from the MCLE requirements in December of 2019, at which time the exemption application form will be made available for use.
The compliance requirement for attorneys admitted in 2017 is 12.5 hours, including 8 hours of ethics, professionalism or law office management, which can be earned in the year of admission or the following calendar year. The eight hour component can be earned using any combination of these credits. All credit hours must be earned by December 31, 2018 and reported no later than January 31, 2019.

The MCLE Rules allow up to 4 hours per compliance period of credit hours delivered through technologically assisted means. Ethics, professionalism, and law office management credits may be obtained in this manner. It is highly recommended that attorneys obtain these course credits through the pre-approved courses listed on the MCLE Calendar. Courses obtained through other venues may not qualify, regardless of the sponsoring organization.

Attorneys admitted in 2017 who do not practice law in Louisiana, and have not practiced Louisiana law in any other jurisdiction since their admission, may qualify for the exemption from the MCLE requirements in December of 2018, at which time the exemption application form will be made available for use.
The annual compliance requirement is 12.5 hours, including 1 hour of ethics and one hour of professionalism. All credit hours must be earned by December 31, 2018 and reported no later than January 31, 2019.

The MCLE Rules allow up to 4 hours annually of credit delivered through technologically assisted means. Ethics and professionalism credits may be obtained in this manner. It is highly recommended that attorneys obtain these course credits through the pre-approved courses listed on the MCLE Calendar. Courses obtained through other venues may not qualify, regardless of the sponsoring organization.

In-House Counsel Admitted to Practice Under LASC 12, Section 14 must earn 12.5 hours annually, including 1 hour of ethics and one hour of professionalism, and must follow the same reporting requirements as all other attorneys. They do not qualify for the MCLE exemption. 
Louisiana State Bar Association
601 St. Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70130
(800) 421-LSBA(5722) / (504) 566-1600