Young Lawyers Division

The purpose of the Young Lawyers Division is to foster discussions and interchange of ideas relative to the duties, responsibilities and problems of the younger members of the legal profession in the State of Louisiana; to aid in their advancement; to encourage their interest and participation in the activities of the Louisiana State Bar Association, and, in general, to further the purposes and objectives of the LSBA. This site is a public service of the LSBA-YLD Council, providing YLD information to the public, communicating with YLD members.

Upcoming Events

No Articles Found

Latest News and Developments

Nominations Open Through October 18 for Five Young Lawyers Division Awards

The nomination period will close on October 18, 2018, for the Outstanding Young Lawyer Award, the Outstanding Local Affiliate, the Program of the Year, the Hon. Michaelle Pitard Wynne Professionalism Award and the YLD Pro Bono Award. Finalists and winners will be recognized at the LSBA YLD’s Professional Development Conference during the LSBA’s Midyear Meeting in January 2019.

Download more nomination information.

LSBA Members, Bar Association Honored with 2018 Young Lawyers Division Awards

Four LSBA members and the Baton Rouge Bar Association’s Young Lawyers Section received 2018 LSBA Young Lawyers Division awards during a June 7 ceremony at the LSBA’s Annual Meeting.

Loren D. Shanklin of Baton Rouge received the Outstanding Young Lawyer Award.

Kristi Wagley Richard of Baton Rouge received the Bat P. Sullivan, Jr. Chair’s Award.

Stuart R. Breaux of Lafayette received the Hon. Michaelle Pitard Wynne Professionalism Award.

Jonathan T. Jarrett of Lafayette received the Pro Bono Award.

The Baton Rouge Bar Association’s Young Lawyers Section received the Service to the Public Award for its Trunk or Treat project and the Service to the Bar Award for its 19th JDC Civil Law Day CLE.

2018 State High School Mock Trial Competition Winners Announced

Congratulations to Jesuit High School (New Orleans), winners of the 2018 Richard N. Ware, IV State High School Mock Trial Competition! The competition was held on March 10, 2018 at the 24th Judicial District Court in Gretna. The members of the first place team are: Nathan Alvarez, Gabe Dupuy, Ethan Erhardt, Christian Lacoste, Nick Leonik and Manuel Molina. Jesuit team member Manuel Molina was also awarded Best Attorney, and team member Nick Leonik was awarded Best Witness. The Jesuit team will now go on to compete in the 2018 National High School Mock Trial Championship this spring in Reno, Nev.

Second place went to the mock trial team from Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies (Metairie): Adija Bhattacharjee, Omer Israeli, Kiera Lesky, Carter Nugent, Luke Vedros and Jacob Zanca.

The State High School Mock Trial Competition is the culmination of four regional championships. It is coordinated annually by the LSBA's Young Lawyers Division. The competition is named in memory of the Honorable Richard N. Ware, IV, who enthusiastically volunteered for nearly a decade as the presiding judge of the final round of the Louisiana High School Mock Trial Competition.

This year’s state case, State of Louisiana VS. Hendrix Rhodes, was written by the members of the University of Louisiana-Monroe Mock Trial Team. Click here to view the 2018 High School Mock Trial Case.

Louisiana State Bar Association
601 St. Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70130
(800) 421-LSBA(5722) / (504) 566-1600