Self-Qualifying Period Continues Through Oct. 21

Several leadership positions are open in the 2019-20 LSBA election cycle.

On Sept. 23, notice of the action of the Nominating Committee and self-qualification forms for positions on the Board of Governors, LSBA House of Delegates, Nominating Committee, Young Lawyers Division and American Bar Association House of Delegates were provided to the membership. Deadline for return of nominations by petition and qualification forms is Monday, Oct. 21. 

Positions to be filled in the 2019-20 elections are:

Board of Governors
(three-year terms beginning at the adjournment of the 2020 LSBA Annual Meeting and ending at the adjournment of the 2023 LSBA Annual Meeting) — one member each from the First, Second, Third and Fifth Board Districts.

LSBA House of Delegates (two-year terms beginning at the commencement of the 2020 LSBA Annual Meeting and ending at the commencement of the 2022 LSBA Annual Meeting) — one delegate from each of the First through Nineteenth Judicial Districts, plus one additional delegate for every additional district judge in each district.

Nominating Committee (15 members, one-year terms beginning at the adjournment of the 2020 LSBA Annual Meeting and ending at the adjournment of the 2021 LSBA Annual Meeting) — District 1A, Orleans Parish, four members; District 1B, parishes of Plaquemines, St. Bernard and St. Tammany, one member; District 2A, East Baton Rouge Parish, two members; District 2B, Jefferson Parish, two members; District 2C, parishes of Ascension, Assumption, East Feliciana, Iberville, Lafourche, Livingston, Pointe Coupee, St. Charles, St. Helena, St. James, St. John the Baptist, Tangipahoa, Terrebonne, Washington, West Baton Rouge and West Feliciana, one member; District 3A, Lafayette Parish, one member; District 3B, parishes of Acadia, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, Iberia, Jefferson Davis, St. Martin, St. Mary and Vermilion, one member; District 3C, parishes of Allen, Avoyelles, Evangeline, Grant, LaSalle, Natchitoches, Rapides, Sabine, St. Landry and Vernon, one member; District 3D, parishes of Bossier and Caddo, one member; and District 3E, parishes of Bienville, Caldwell, Catahoula, Claiborne, Concordia, DeSoto, East Carroll, Franklin, Jackson, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Red River, Richland, Tensas, Union, Webster, West Carroll and Winn, one member.

Young Lawyers Division — Secretary (2019-20 term), nominee shall be a resident of or actively practicing law in any parish in Louisiana, based on preferred mailing address. Petitions for nomination must be signed by 15 members of the Young Lawyers Division. Also to be elected, one representative each from the First, Second, Third, Fifth and Seventh districts (two-year terms).

American Bar Association House of Delegates (must be members of the American Bar Association) — two delegates from the membership at large and one delegate from that portion of the membership not having reached his/her 35th birthday by Aug. 4, 2020 (that delegate being the “young lawyer delegate”). All LSBA members may vote for both sets of candidates. The delegates will serve two-year terms, beginning with the adjournment of the 2020 ABA Annual Meeting and expiring at the adjournment of the 2022 ABA Annual Meeting, as provided in Paragraph 6.4(e) of the ABA Constitution.

Click here for more information or to self-qualify.

LSBA News Resources

Louisiana Bar Journal Bar Briefs
Louisiana State Bar Association
601 St. Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70130
(800) 421-LSBA(5722) / (504) 566-1600