Access to Justice Committee

The mission of the Access to Justice Committee is to assure that every Louisiana citizen has access to competent civil legal representation by promoting and supporting a broad based and effective justice community through collaboration between the Louisiana State Bar Association, the Louisiana Bar Foundation, Louisiana Law Schools, private practitioners, local bar associations, pro bono programs and legal aid providers.

The Access to Justice Committee was established in 1996 to consolidate the efforts of two existing LSBA committees (The Legal Services Committee and The Volunteers In Public Service Committee). As the mission states, the committee helps to strengthen an integrated delivery network by supporting all those who deliver legal services to the poor. The current committee is comprised of 40 volunteer members, both attorneys and non-attorneys, with the common interest of assisting the indigent with their legal needs. These volunteers, with various backgrounds, reside throughout Louisiana and include corporate counsel, legal service attorneys, legal educators, large and small firm representatives, and pro bono directors. Their diverse backgrounds only enhance the committee's ability to work through initiatives from a variety of approaches.

Latest Access to Justice News and Events

Take the Pro Bono Survey Today!

The LSBA is announcing participation in a new project to gather information about Louisiana's commitment to pro bono
. The LSBA's Access to Justice Program and Louisiana pro bono projects are partnering with the American Bar Association to distribute a statewide survey to collect valuable information concerning pro bono access throughout the state. Specifically, the survey is designed to assess the state of pro bono in the legal profession, quantify and recognize the pro bono work done by attorneys, and understand the factors that encourage or discourage pro bono service.

Anyone who completes this survey and wishes to provide their contact information will be entered into a drawing to win one of several prizes. Prizes include one of ten $200 gift cards, one of ten 30% LSBA CLE discount coupons, and one tuition waiver for the 2017 LSBA Summer School Program during the LSBA Annual Meeting in Destin, FL.

We need your help and input, whether your've volutneered within the last year or not. Click here to take the survey.

Read the latest "Focus on ATJ" from the January 2017 LSBA Bar Briefs

This month's "Focus on ATJ" section provides information about the statewide pro bono survey,, the LIFT application process for the New Orleans Family Justice Center, and our "Top Ten" list of ATJ accomplishments for 2016. Click here to learn more.

2017 Pro Bono Publico and Children's Law Awards

The Louisiana State Bar Association nominations for its 2017 Friend of Pro Bono Award, Pro Bono Publico Award, Career Public Interest Award, the David A. Hamilton Lifetime Achievement Award, the Law Student Award and the Children's Law Award will open December 5, 2016. Awards will be presented at a pro bono reception in May 2017.

Nominations close on February 17, 2017 at 4:30pm.  Nomination extended until February 24, 2017 4:30pm

Click here to make Nominations.

Register today with!

The LSBA is excited to announce that launched on Monday, August 22nd. is a new website that connects low-income individuals with attorneys. Through the website, attorney volunteers will be able to log in whenever and wherever they like to anonymously respond to legal questions submitted by individuals who could not otherwise afford to consult an attorney.


Louisiana State Bar Association
601 St. Charles Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70130
(800) 421-LSBA(5722) / (504) 566-1600